Tribe of the Goddess
- News
- Forum
- Links

- Chronopia?
- Articles
- Gallery
- Downloads

The Factions:
Blackblood Devout Dwarven
Elven Firstborn Sons of Kronos
Stygian Swamp Goblins
back to startsite

Article print

OFFICIAL FAQ for CHRONOPIA, 2nd Edition

From the Excelsior Entertainment Board

Latest Update: 10-27-2004 version of FAQ

I have decided to address FAQ related issues in this one place and will go through and assemble the various questions into this area. When complete, I will make the complete FAQ available both in the supplement and as a pdf.

POINT COST DISCREPENCIES:
This area will cover any troop whose points may have been mis stated in the core rule book.

Blackblood List:
Goblin Ripper Beast Lancer (page 138)- Cost=51
Goblin Ripper Beast Archer (page 140)- Cost= 48
Orc Caravan Guards (page 134)- Cost=28 **Add Immune to Panic SA and Secondary Attack SA (for use with Buckler)
Orc Caravan Guard Leader (page 134)- Cost= 30 **Add Immune to Panic SA and Secondary Attack SA (for use with Buckler)

Devout Stats:
Tormented (page 170)- AR=23, Natural Weapon is (2x) Gore (12)

Dwarven List:
Vulture Impaler (page 198)- Cost=60
Dark Axe Warriors (page 200)- Cost =32
Wolf Clan Swordsmen (page 207)- Cost=30
Scavengers (page 209)- Cost=72
Axe Horn Warriors (page 212)- Cost = 38
Axe Horn Leader (page 212)- Cost = 40
Horn Skull Champion (page 213)- Cost = 73
Horned One Raider (page 213)- Cost=95, WD should read 4

Dwarven Stats:
Wolf Legion Gauntlet Warriors and Standard Bearer (page 207)- AR=20, MV=3
Wolf Axe Warriors & Leader (page 208)- MV=3
Wolf Clan Scouts & Leader (page 208)- MV=3
Horned Ones Warshields, Musicians, Standard Bearers & Leader (pages 211-212)- MV=3

Swamp Goblin List:
Headhunter Champion (page 345)- Cost=57

RULES CLARTIFICATIONS:
This section covers any areas that may need clarification from the rules section of the core book.

?1) Do Natural Attacks have their ST values added to the stated Damage of the attack. It states as much under the explanation.

!*** No they do not. Editing left off the statement that "Natural Attacks have had these calculations done for you". What is shown under Damage is the complete amount of the attack. Some may wonder why some models dont do more damage. This is fine. We take the position that skill and ability is as much a factor, if not more so, than just bulk. An Abyss Crawler for example has a gore attack of 12 x2. While his horn is fearsome, its true power is purely derived from the ST of the model, not from either skill or weapon enchantment. By extension smaller models may actually be able to score more vicious wounds than larger ones, through a combination of their weapon selection and skill with the weapon.

?2) The Crystal Knight (page 238) states that it grants a -2 to the CC and MW of the opponent. What does MW mean?

!***The MW abbreviation stands for Missile Weapon. This was the abbreviation that was previously used in Chronopia to denote what we now call RC, or ranged combat. This convention was changed to make the transition betwen Chronopia and Warzone seemless. The sentence should state that it is "-2 to the CC and RC to any enemy models within 4 inches of the knight."

?3) How does a "Tunneling" model emerge from the ground and can you prevent a tunneler from emerging by moving your models over its location?

!*** Fair question. A tunneling model is marked by a tunneling counter while it is below ground. It takes one action to surface. Since a tunneling model will surface during your turn and its activation, there really is no way for an oppnents model to move to a position above you. if they were moving, it wouldnt be your turn anyway. An enemy may move above a tunneler and when the tunneler turn to activate comes, it will have to move at least for one action before surfacing. Surfacing does not count as an attack action and is therefore not subject to countercharge actions.

?4) Why are dwarves size 2 and skeleton ones size 1?

!***The Dwarves are afforded a Size 2 based on the fact that they are bulked up and well armored. Size 2 covers everything from a range of sizes in the human spectrum. The skeletal Dwarves are not bulked up, quite the contrary in fact. They are little more than desicated corpses and are smaller than they living counterparts. It isnt that their frames are different, but the addition of flesh, muscle and heavy armor adds a bit to the height.

?5) Can you charge a model, say around a corner, even if you don’t have LOS to it at the start of that action?

!***NO. you must be able to see the target in order to charge it.

?6) If I start the turn in a models front facing and move around to its rear facing, does it still lose it’s shield bonus?

!***Follow the rules listed on page 84 under Backstab when trying to determine a charge to a models rear facing. If a model started its activation it your front facing, it’s fairly simple to keep an eye on him. However if you are already in contact with an enemy model, you are unable to turn to meet the new threat, so if he gets to your back arc (remember that you must charge using the most direct path possible) you DO lose your shield bonus. Also remember that you can countercharge a model moving past you.

?7) When making an attack with a multiple damage weapon, like the maiming polearm, and I roll a 1, my opponent takes 1 wound automatically, then gets a normal armor save for the other 2 (page 93). But do I get to roll for those other 2 wounds to try and make them automatic as well?

!***NO. Just follow the rule on page 93. With a x3 weapon that would be 1 auto wound 2 normal armor saves. No other rolls are necessary or allowed.

?8) Say I have a hidden unit still being represented by its unit card, and I move within my LD value of one of his unrevealed cards. Does he have to flip his card while mine remains face down.?

!***In order to reveal an enemy card the “seeing” model must be on the board. This is because models can end up placed up to 4” away from the center of the unit card, which affects the measured distance, plus the specific LD of the model needs to be known. So you must place the unit, but a hidden or stalking marker is placed next to it. Note that if the model is “Stalking” he still may be placed up to 3” from his “apparent location” when he is finally revealed. You do not have to do this, as you may want your units identity to remain secret, however since they are busy hiding they are unable to pass the identity of the enemy to the rest of their army and the enemy card remains unflipped.

?9) Can "False Leads" be used to move forward like the Hidden/Stalk troops? Also, if you play the Stygian and use the special spell of "Shadow of Tiamat" and only move troops, will this include Deployment Cards for "False Leads" as well?

!***YES. A false lead can simulate any unit from the army, even if you are not playing with one in your force. So a firstborn player could “pretend” to have a Nightwalker even if he doesn’t. You may move the False Lead exactly as if it were that unit, but remember that false leads are revealed as soon as a enemy unit gets within LOS & its LD in inches. False Leads can be moved with “Shadow of Tiamat” just as if they were real troops.

?10) Residual Damage: If you roll a 20 on your armor roll, how much damage do you take?

!*** You take 1 wound and must continue to roll armor saves until you succeed or die. There is no specific fumble for residual damage because there is no perfect success.

?11) Do the Goblin Myrmidon, Swamp Fiend, Double Mounted Kutara &/or War Torka count as Missile Weapon units for the purpose of the 40% ratio?

!***Yes for Double Mounted Kutara &/or War Torka. No for Myrmidon & Swamp Fiend

?12) Can the Soulflayer use her Balefire Special ability when in base contact with enemy models. How about Feast, casting spells or other actions. How about the Actions Give Orders or Rally? The Rules state that you MAY make a melee attack in when bases to base contact with an enemy, Page 60. It also states that’s the ONLY action you may take on page 65.

!***Once in base to base contact with an enemy, you may make a Melee attack, a Special attack (Balefire, Ophidian acid attack, etc., unless it specifically prohibits it like the Venom spawn), Rally, Give Orders or attempt to Break Away. You may NOT Feast, Cast spells (unless it says so), or perform any other Action.

?13) Before and or after a move action it states you may face in any direction. Trample is a type of Move action, but states that it must be in a straight line. Does this mean I can change facing and then Trample in a straight line or that I must Trample straight ahead from my CURRENT facing.

!***You may not change facing when making a Trample, either before OR after. This means that a model that has Trample but only 2 AC cannot Trample, then Trample again in a different direction (though he could continue his Trample along the same line as his first).

?14) Concerning the Shield Wall special ability. Do all models in the unit have to form a shield wall or can some members form a wall while others perform other actions?

!***You need at least 2 models to form “Shield Wall”. You do not have to use all models in the unit.

?15) Can a model with the “Leap” ability attack a flyer at height band 2?

!***Yes, leaping up to make an attack is no different than a flyer darting down to make an attack. Models may leap a vertical distance equal to their size. So simply add that distance to the model’s height to see what height bands it could affect.

?16) Ok, my model is charged from its rear facing. While I cant countercharge, can I stand fast or brace?

!***No you can not. If the model that is attacking does so from the rear of the model (thus outside its forward arc), the model did not see the attack coming. In essence, you are not allowed to respond from Wait at all from this type of maneuver. Looking back on this question, the rule on page 62 of the core rulebook should have read "Cannot receive a charge" instead of "Cannot Countercharge". Since Countercharge, Standfast and Brace are all options for "receiving a charge", none of these can be used when attacked from the rear facing. I thought this was obvious.

? 17) Page 58 of the Chronopia Core Rulebook states that a model "can also turn as it makes an attack in close combat". Doesnt that mean any model will have an effective 360-degree attack arc, instead of the 180-degree arc listed?

!***The statement on page 58 was intended to address being able to turn and charge a model that is not in the forward arc with a single action. Once engaged from behind in close combat, the issue is very different. Models with a 180-degree firing arc must spend a Move action to turn and one to attack. They do not get to turn and attack with the same action. Needless to say, models with a 360-degree firing arc do not suffer this limitation.

?18) If a model can turn and charge a model that isnt in the forward arc, wouldnt that be charging a model that is not in LOS, since LOS is limited to the forward arc?

!***The text on page 48 may be misleading. Models can see 360-degrees, but only react in a timely fashion to what is in their front arc. It is legal for them to turn and charge a model in the rear arc during their activation. Thats what the text on page 58 was attempting to clarify. It is important to note that once engaged from the rear in close combat, the attacked model must spend a Move action to turn and a subsequent Action to attack. The attacked model cannot turn and attack with a single action, since that action is not a charge.

?19) Can models on wait, dive for cover from a trample that originates in their rear arc?

!***No. Dive for cover assumes the attack is both seen coming and a template.

?20 ) I know that an individual within 4" of a friendly warband counts as part of that warband for targetting purposes. What about another warband?

!***No.

?21) What if Risen are within 12" of the missile unit? The missiliers cannot affect the Risen with their weapons so do they HAVE to target them?

!***Yes, the missiliers must target the Risen even though they cannot affect them.

?22) How many wounds does The Damneds Soul Consumption power restore?

!***Soul Consumption will restore all damage to the Damned. It is a potent power. If this was unclear I apologize. I had assumed the sentence "restore damage to itself" was obvious since it avoided the phrase "restores one wound" as is used in other places in the book. I wonder now how often this was misplayed. :(

?23) Can Dwarven Warshields use their Hail of Arrows attack while in Shield Wall formation?

!***No they may not. Shield Wall is a formation tactic requiring specific demands on the WS. HoA on the other hand requires full attention/focus on it. The two are mutually exclusive.

?24) Which units can use their Shields (or other) while wielding their two-handed weapons? It is implied some can in the rulebook.

!***It seems this editing issue was missed so I have included these below.
Orc Assault Warriors: Yes they use their shields and spears in CC.
Ogre Myrmadon Bull Cavalry: Yes, they may use their shields and spear in CC.
Elven Spearmen: No they may not use their Shields while in CC. You must add +1 to their DEF when they get into CC.
Horned One Warshields: Yes, they may use their shields and hammers in CC.
Iron Guard: Yes they use their shields and spears in CC.
SG Spearmen: Yes they may use their shields and spears in CC.
SG Heavy Spearmen: Yes, they may use their shields and spears in CC.

?25) If a model is moving near an enemy model (not running) and the enemy model comes off wait to charge it, does the moving model get a charge bonus as well?

!***In the event of the above, your moving model goes into countercharge and, as it clearly states on page 66 "Normal charging bonuses to CC and DAM apply to both models in combat resulting from countercharge."

?26) Regarding Polearms, I have a few questions about how they work in CC?

!*** No problem, here it is:
A) Do polearms get a multiple attacker bonus? YES THEY DO.
B) Do they get the +1 to CC and DAM? YES THEY DO.
C) Does a model attacked by a polearm still get to apply his DEF? YES HE DOES.

?27) How many models may surround another in CC?

!***Do determine eligibility for group attacks, the rule of thumb in the book could be better. We have found the rule of four will lead to impracticalities when large SZ differences occur. We recommend the following:
"If models are equal in SZ, up to four may surround it and attack. For each point of SZ difference, one attacker is either subtracted or added."
For example: Gobbos (SZ1) surround and Ogre (SZ3) they would be able to attack with six models (four + two for each point of size greater). If the example were revearsed, then only 2 Ogres would be able to properly attack a Goblin (base 4-2 for the SZ difference=2)

?28 ) Can you Run a figure into base contact with an enemy model?

!***NO.

?29) Can you please describe once and for all how "Stalk" works in the Chronopia game. In the one thread where it was discussed, it was still uncertain as to whether the model with Stalk is "immune" to combat (like splashes from template weapons etc...) until HE initiates combat himself (at which time he becomes visible). Also, the figures with Stalk in Chronopia dont have "Hide" - so it is a one shot deal that seems fairly expensive to the unit if it can be spotted as you would any other hiding figure.

!***I can see why there may be some confusion here. Stalking models are assumed to be hiding and can thus go back into stalk mode assuming they are not in LOS or with 6" of enemy models (as per hide). All these types of abilities are generally graduated affects. As for whether a template affects them in Stalking mode, they currently do not.

?30) LEAP Does Run interact somehow with the Leap ability? I mean, can a Stygian Run and then Leap in the same round? A Stygian Leaps and attacks (charge) an enemy model. Can anyone (including the attacked models allied models) use their wait action and countercharge the Stygian?

!*** A Stygian may run and then leap in the same round, yes. As it is currently, there is no way to use wait to countercharge a leap attack. Even nearby models not being attacked may not do so.

?31) If a mounted unit/chariot is on wait and it wants to use it, do I roll a LD check for each member of that unit or just once using with the highest LD?

!*** Once with the highest LD.

?32) Can a unit begin a trample while in CC? Does it have to break away? While on the subject, what are the available actions a unit can make while in CC?

!***Since Trample is a glorified move action, you cannot perform it while engaged in CC. You must break away from CC first before you can even do this. As for what actions can you legally use while in cc, they are: attack and break away.

?33) What happens when a unit card falls under a template.

!***Nothing. Accidental overlaps do not apply to cards.

?34) You stated before that the Standard of Concealment helps against Hail of Arrows. In what way exactly? Since the opposing leader just needs LOS to the unit and uses his LD, the penalty to RC does not come into effect at some point. Is the penalty to RC translated as a penalty to LD or DAM?

!*** It is translated to the LD score of the Leader making the roll.

SPELL CLARIFICATIONS:
This section covers any issues that may arise from the spells.

?1) Can "Greater Desert Wyrm" be cast on suspended terrain? What about elevated terrain?

!*** No. This spell causes a Greater Wyrm to surface briefly much like the creature that Jabba the Hutt tried to feed Luke Skywalker to in the Star Wars movie. If the model is on ground level it is vulnerable. If the elevation (ie bridge) is completely within the template (both ends), then yes as well. It does not rise up like a Desert or Tenebrous Crawler.

?2) Regarding the Alchemists Firebomb. Can it be aimed? Can you concentrate with it too? Can you target the ground and if so how does it work?

!***Aimed??? Yes, as the Alchemist is throwing the bomb (ie-using his RC stat), he may spend an action to aim. You may not concentrate and aim in the same activation however.

!***Concentrate??? Yes, though not because this is a spell. The roll against PW is to simulate whether the Alchemist has successfully mixed the chemicals within his amphora, which he may adjust before throwing. He might do this as the prospect of highly volitile chemicals being carried around is not one even the Alchemists like and incrreasing their likelihood of combustion is something best left for when they get rid of it. Sure the Firebomb is effective as is, but they can juice it up. You may not concentrate and aim in the same activation however.

!***In the end, an Alchemist may opt to improve his chances for hitting, or improve his chances of a volitile chemical reaction but not both.

!***Targeting the Ground??? Yes, the spell does this, and it does so for these reasons:
1) It may remove terrain obstructions vulnerable to fire.
2) It may be used to deter movement and heard enemies to where you want them.
3) It allows the Alchemist to maximize his effective spash area, especially in the event it deviates.
Considering the intent of the option to target terrain, you may target terrain features or areas that maximize its usefulness.
---- You must still afford cover bonuses when targeting models in cover (when applicable). If your placement somehow neutralizes that, well played. You should however have a viable target within LOS of course.
----You must always target enemy warband within 12" of the Alchemist and within LOS though you may focus on the unit as a whole and not the closest model in the warband. This means you would target either the ground amidst them.
----If a model is somehow hidden, and the Alchemist is unaware of his presence, then that model should not be targeted actively or passively (by aiming at nearby ground). If they are hidden afterall they not known to be there. If a hidden model is caught in the deviation or splash from a legitimate target, apply normal rules for the Firebomb including any cover. This should not be an area of abuse or rules lawyering, the intent is clear. If there is a legitimate target that could also affect the hidden model, so be it. If there is nothing near the hidden model there would be no reason (in most cases) to do anything near him. Good judgement should be applied.
----Please note, this covers hidden-type models, not simply ones who have the benefit of cover. The chameleon special ability is an example of this (and yes, aiming the Firebomb when attacking a model with chameleon abilities will reduce the RC penalty to -2).

?3) How is Corrosion (a Devout Spell) cumulative if you can only cast it once successfully?

!***The wording could be better I suppose. The answer is this:
---A Necromancer may attempt to cast any spell as often as he can until he succeeds.
---A successful corrossion spell can only be cast by one Necromancer a turn.
---Multiple Necrmancers may cast this spell on the same target to cumulative effect.
---A single Necromancer may cast the spell on the same targets on subsequent turns.
The only point missing from the text is that the DEF bonus has a maximum adjustment of -4. Armor meanwhile has a maximum degradation of AR 12.

?4) When it says a model may not cast a spell more than once per turn, does it mean successfully cast the spell or attempt the spell?

!***A model may ATTEMPT to cast a spell as often as it can until it succeeds or runs out of available actions. ATTEMPTS do not equal actual casting.

?5) How much of a model is needed to be visible for a spell to target it?

!***As long as the model may be seen (ie:hard cover) it may be affected. Remember we are not talking about an exposed foot or hand, but a viable target.

WEAPONS CLARIFICATIONS:
Self explanatory.

Gourd Bombs (page101): Add to Notes: This item should deviate if it misses its target. Follow deviation resolution methods described in the rules.
Javelin (page 101): Should read: 5+ STR for the Range.
Heavy Repeating Crossbow (page 101): Should read: ROF: 2/1
Dragon Hammer (page 98 ): Should read: Fire-based +2, Bludgeoning +3
Fire Sword (page 98 ): Should read: Fire-based +1
Sundisk Dagger (page 98 ): Should read: Fire-based +2
Chariots (page 67 ): Chariots do not add the ST value of the beasts pulling it to the DAM in a charge, they are not classified as Mounted Troops.
Idea Spiked Buckler Shield (page 134): Should read: ST+2, -1 to opponents CC score when engaged in melee. Used as a secondary attack weapon.

SPECIAL ABILITIES:
Self explanatory.

Ram Attack (page 89): Third paragraph, last sentence should read: "When a model is prone it suffers a penalty of+4 to its DEF and must use its next available action to stand up."

Trample (page 91): Second paragraph, last sentence, should read: " When a model is prone it suffers a penalty of +4 to its DEF and must use its next available action to stand up."

Dream Warriors Defensive Adjustment (page 235): The explanation for the Dream Warriors states that the CC and RC scores of an attacker are reduced by half when they attack the Dream Warriors. This means that stat being used is reduced before any modifiers are applied. If it were the other way it would be stated as "reduce the modified CC or RC stats." There is a difference between the versions, most notably it being more punishing to Missile troops the way we intended it.

Latest Update: 10-27-2004

Comments


  No comments.


  Comment
Name:
Text:
10 : 5 = No Spam
 

First version from 22.03.2008. Last Version from 24.03.2008.

© 2005 - 2015 www.chronopiaworld.com - to Chronopia Deutschland
Disclaimer & Contact